Executive Committee minutes January 26, 2016

The NCHA Executive Committee met via conference call on Tuesday, January 26, 2016. The meeting was called to order at 5:00 p.m. with a quorum of 12 members participating: President Jo Ellard, President-Elect Chuck Smith, Vice President Lewis Wray, Kathy Daughn, Chris Dublin, Jeff Fisk, Matt Gaines, Jack Holt, Jerry Louie, J.B. McLamb (in the NCHA office), Bill Riddle and Ronnie Smith. The absences of Charlie Israel and Seth Kirchner were excused. Additionally participating were Payout Task Force members Casey Green, Matt Miller, Tatum Rice (all three in the NCHA office), Heather Stiles, Von Sutten, and Kathleen Moore. NCHA staff present were Jim Bret Campbell, Angie Highland, Dave Brian, Dee McLauchlin and Pam Robison.

The Payout Task Force (Members: Matt Miller, chair of the Limited Age Event Committee; Tatum Rice, vice chair of the Limited Age Event Committee; Heather Stiles, chair of the Non-Pro Committee; Kathleen Moore, chair of the Stallion Owners Committee; Von Sutten, amateur representative; Casey Green, member of the Professional Trainers Committee and Chair of the Cattle Committee; Lloyd Cox, member of the Limited Age Event Committee; Tommy Neal, member of the Finance Committee; Terry Strange, chair of the Finance Committee; and Lach Perks, ad hoc member of the Finance Committee) met several times to work on the following primary objectives:

  1. Create simple, clear and consistent rules for NCHA events to increase understanding and transparency to payouts and awards.
  2. Eliminate Guaranteed Payouts to manage financial risk more effectively.
  3. Retain philosophy to pay competitors as strong and as deep as practical especially in the Non Pro and amateur classes.
  4. Keep NCHA events as the best value cutting in the industry based on entry fee vs. payout potential.

It is anticipated this group will meet annually to review the Triple Crown payouts and offer recommendations for any alterations. Additionally, it was noted that any recommendations from the Convention that may affect the Triple Crown purses will be reviewed by a “Competition Committee” before the Executive Committee meets to take action on the Convention recommendations. This Competition Committee would consist of the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of the most appropriate standing committees.

After discussion, a motion was made by Bill Riddle and seconded by Chuck Smith to approve the Triple Crown payout program as presented. This motion passed by a vote of seven in favor (Bill Riddle, Chuck Smith, Lewis Wray, Jeff Fisk, Matt Gaines, Ronnie Smith and J.B. McLamb) and three not in favor (Kathy Daughn, Jerry Louie, and Jack Holt). The entire proposal is attached.

During the January 14 & 15, 2016 Executive Committee, the following was approved regarding the 2015/2016 NCHA budget:

The committee was presented with two budget versions for the fiscal year of 2015-2016, with the difference between the two being an increase in the office charge for the Super Stakes and Summer Cutting Spectacular (an increase of $200 for each show, $325 to $525 for open and non pro classes). There were other specific items affecting the). There were other specific items affecting the budget that were discussed and approved during the November meeting. A motion was made by Jerry Louie, seconded by Chris Dublin and passed to approve the 2015/2016 budget with the office fee increase as presented.

This item was reviewed again, a motion was made by Lewis Wray and seconded by Ronnie Smith to change the office fees for the Amateur and Unlimited Amateur classes at the Super Stakes and Summer Show to $275 beginning with the 2016 Super Stakes. This motion passed by a vote of nine in favor (Lewis Wray, Ronnie Smith, Chuck Smith, Kathy Daughn, Jeff Fisk, Matt Gaines, Jack Holt, Jerry Louie, Bill Riddle, and Ronnie Smith) to one (J.B. McLamb). The Open and Non Pro office fees for those two shows will remain at $525 and the Limited Non Pro at $325.

Being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.