Three to be inducted into NCHA Members Hall of Fame

NCHA LogoRobert Charles Brown of Tallulah, Louisiana; Jerry Durant of Weatherford, Texas; and Bob Mayfield of Wills Point, Texas, will be inducted into the NCHA Members Hall of Fame on Saturday, June 25 at the 2016 NCHA Convention.

All three inductees have been enthusiastic cutters and NCHA supporters for decades.

Brown has served as an affiliate officer and as an NCHA director for many years, and he has been involved with several of the sport’s biggest limited age events, including the Southern and Tunica Futurities, the Cotton Stakes and The Ike Derby & Classic.

Durant, a prominent auto dealer and civic leader in North Texas, has been a successful breeder, owner and rider of cutting horses. He has owned reserve champions in four of NCHA’s Triple Crown shows and he was won Non-Pro championships at Augusta, Gold Coast and the Brazos Bash. Durant has been a long-time supporter of NCHA events and programs, and is the title sponsor of the 2016 NCHA Futurity.

Mayfield, who served as NCHA President in 2007, was a long-time NCHA director who has been active in Area 24 for more than three decades. Always active in the community, he was named Wills Point Man of the Year. After serving as a fireman, he became probably the first NCHA President to have delivered a baby.

Riders, Non-Pros and horses will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame on June 25.

The Riders Hall of Fame will welcome Tarin Rice and Mike Wood.

Non-Pro Hall of Fame inductees will be Bill Cowan, Cody Hedlund, Nelson Knight, Ty Moore, Cade Shepard, and Kaitlyn Wimberly.

Going into the Horses Hall of Fame are Junie Wood and Special Nu Baby.

The Hall of Fame Banquet will be held during the NCHA Convention at the Hilton DFW Lakes, 1800 Hwy 26 East, Grapevine, Texas.